21 Day Detox – who’s with me?

Tomorrow begins my 21 Day detox.

I am getting Spring fever and so over this snow (for those of us who have been blasted with seemingly endless snowstorms, you understand).  That tease of warm weather last weekend here in Philadelphia brought on that indescribable feeling  you get when you know nice weather is around the corner. I could feel it in the air, hear it in the chirping birds, see it in the tulips peaking through the thawing earth.

I decided that Sunday I was in a need of a pre-Spring cleanse. I want to feel as alive and vibrant as Spring, whenever it arrives.  If you are like me in the winter you tend to eat more comforting, heartier meals, while hibernating in your cozy home.

That little blast of warm weather was like a wake up call for me. I knew it was time to get my body and mind back in shape and to shed not only a few winter pounds, but to also shed those winter blues and revive my mind and spirit.

hello-sunshine

Nothing helps more with that than a good detox (mind, body, spirit) –  mindful eating, more rest, less social media, more journaling, less stressing, more juicing, less processed foods.

So tomorrow I begin my 21 day detox –  just in time for Spring and warm weather.

My detox goes as follows:

I will be eliminating completely : sugar, dairy, gluten, processed foods. 

My main source of nourishment will come from : vegetables (lots of dark leafy greens); grass-fed, organic lean meats; wild-caught fish (smaller the better- less mercury and toxins); healthy fats such as coconut oil, cold-pressed olive oil, nuts, seeds and avocado; grains such as quinoa, brown rice and millet.

I’ll be limiting fruits, caffeine (rarely drink it but occasional green tea is okay).
*If you are a coffee drinker limit to black coffee if you absolutely need.

Aside from the diet guidelines of the detox, I will also be cleansing my mind and building my spirit by adding/eliminating certain actions and activities. I will be off of social media (except for limited time for my nourish and nosh facebook page and blog). I will be limiting stress by adding more meditation, more yoga, morning and night time journaling (this is my all time favorite way to rid anxiety, organize thoughts, and relieve stress). I’ll also be taking epsom salt baths with lavender. The epsom salt pulls toxins from your skin, while the lavender helps to soothe any tension and stress (also good for insomnia and/or headaches).

memed

I will be digging deeper into my own spirituality and practice it with more devotion and discipline. I also would like to exercise more awareness in my words, thoughts, decisions and actions.

I am really looking forward to this and hope you’ll join me.  If 21 days seems too long, aim for 5-7. Any amount of cleansing time will help jump start your body into Spring mode and help to revive you mentally, physically and spiritually.

Please feel free to email me for recipes and different meals, snacks, smoothies and juices I will be making the next 21 days.  I look forward to hearing from you and to share this amazing journey I am about to embark on.

*Please begin whenever you are ready. Make sure to read these guidelines to prep your body for a cleanse. If you heavily rely on foods that contain dairy or gluten, you may tailor this cleanse to your specific needs. I know what my body can handle and I limit gluten, dairy and sugar on a daily basis, so it will not be such a drastic change for me. It is important you ween yourself into any change in diet by going slow. Contact me with any questions.

One thought on “21 Day Detox – who’s with me?

  1. Pingback: a few meal inspirations | nourish + nosh

Leave a Reply

